Literary Awards with Prize Money over $50,000 – Part 2


In the previous post, we looked at eighteen rich literary prizes with prize money over $50,000. Here are eighteen more. You can read the Part 1 of this article here.


1. Pritzker Literature Award for Lifetime Achievement in Military Writing

It is a lifetime achievement award for military writing given annually by the Pritzker Military Museum & Library and sponsored by the Tawani Foundation of Chicago.

Prize Money: $100000

Recent Winner: Tim O’Brien


2. Ruth Lilly Poetry Prize

The prize honors a living U.S. poet whose “lifetime accomplishments warrant extraordinary recognition”.

Prize Money: $100000

Recent Winner: Marie Ponsot


3. Wallace Stevens Award

The award was established in 1994 to “recognize outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry”.

Prize Money: $100000

Recent Winner: Robert Hass


4. Sami Rohr Prize for Jewish Literature

It is an annual prize awarded to an outstanding literary work of Jewish interest.

Prize Money: $100000

Recent Winner: Matti Friedman


5. The Kingsley Tufts Poetry Award

It is given to poets for their collections of poetry written in the English language, by a citizen or legal resident alien of the United States. It is presented to a mid-career, emerging poet who already possesses an established body of work.

Prize Money: $100000

Recent Winner: Afaa Michael Weaver


6. Al Owais Award

It is a bi-annual prize for artistic and cultural achievement in the Arab world.

Prize Money: $100000

Recent Winner: Radwa Ashour and Mohammed Ali Shams Al Din


7. São Paulo Prize for Literature

It is a Brazilian literary prize for novels written in the Portuguese language and published in Brazil. It was established in 2008 by the Secretary of Culture for the State of São Paulo.

Prize Money: R$200,000 (Around $70,000)

Recent Winner: Daniel Galera


8. Hans Christian Andersen Literature Award

It is awarded bi-annually to a living author whose work resembles Hans Christian Andersen.

Prize Money: kr 500,000 (Around $60,000)

Recent Winner: Salman Rushdie


9. Neustadt International Prize for Literature

It is a biennial award for literature sponsored by the University of Oklahoma and its international literary publication, World Literature Today.

Prize Money: $50000

Recent Winner: Mia Couto


10. Man Booker International Prize

It is an international literary award given every two years to a living author of any nationality for a body of work published in English or generally available in English translation.

Prize Money: £60,000 (Around $90000)

Recent Winner: Lydia Davis


11. Man Booker Prize for Fiction

It is a literary prize awarded each year for the best original novel, written in the English language, and published in the UK.

Prize Money: £50000 (Around $75000)

Recent Winner: Richard Flanagan


12. Common Wealth Awards of Distinguished Service

The awards reward and encourage the best of human performance worldwide.

Prize Money: $50000

Recent Winner: David McCullough


13. Goethe Prize of the City of Frankfurt

It is a prestigious award for achievement ‘worthy of honor in memory of Johann Wolfgang Goethe’ made by the city of Frankfurt am Main, Germany.

Prize Money: €50000 (Around $60000)

Recent Winner: Peter von Matt


14. Jan Michalski Prize for Literature

It is a Swiss literary prize for any work of fiction or non-fiction published anywhere in the world in any language.

Prize Money: CHF 50,000 (Around $50,000)

Recent Winner: Serhiy Zhadan


15. Premio Iberoamericano Planeta-Casa de América de Narrativa

It is a Latin American Spanish language literary award.

Prize Money: $200000

Recent Winner: Jorge Volpi


16. Premio Alfaguara de Novela

It is a Spanish-language literary award given to a chosen Spanish language title.

Prize Money: $175000

Recent Winner: Jorge Franco


17. Prix Formentor

It is an international literary award and it takes its name from the town of Formentor on the Spanish island of Mallorca that was famous for its literary gatherings.

Prize Money: €50,000 (Around $60000)

Recent Winner: Enrique Vila-Matas


18. Siegfried Unseld Preis

It is an international award for scientific and literary accomplishments. It has been arwarded biyearly on the 28th of September since 2004 in remembrance of the German publisher Siegried Unseld.

Prize Money: €50000 (Around $60000)

Recent Winner: Art Spiegelman

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: